The Stuart L. Bernath Dissertation Research Grant

The Bernath Dissertation Grant of up to $4,000 is intended to help graduate students defray expenses encountered in the writing of their dissertations. The award is announced formally at the SHAFR luncheon held during the annual meeting of the American Historical Association. (Applicants for this award will be considered automatically for the Holt, Gelfand-Rappaport-LaFeber, and Bemis grants.) Applicants must be actively working on dissertations dealing with some aspect of U.S. foreign relations history. Membership in SHAFR is required.

Procedures: Self-nominations are expected. The annual deadline for applications is October 15. To apply, please read through the Instructions Sheet and then use the online application located below, which appears when applications are being accepted.  Questions can be e-mailed to [email protected]

Any applicant not receiving an e-mailed confirmation of application after submission should contact the committee chair.

Within eight months of receiving the award, each successful applicant must file with the SHAFR Business Office a brief report on how the funds were spent. Such reports will be considered for publication in Passport.

Online Application



Recent Winners:

  • 2017 Alvita Akiboh
  • 2016 Michael B. de Groot
  • 2015 Eva-Maria Muschik
  • 2014 Nguyet Nguyen
  • 2013 Teishan Latner
  • 2012 Rebecca Herman
  • 2011 Sarah Miller-Davenport
  • 2010 Kevin Arlyck
  • 2009 Christopher Dietrich
  • 2008 Jennifer Miller
  • 2007 Blair Woodard
  • 2006 Peter Shulman, Robert McGreevey
  • 2005 Jessica Chapman
  • 2004 Meredith Oyen
  • 2003 Adam Howard
  • 2002 Larry Grubbs
  • 2001 Hiroshi Kitamura; Clea Bunch
  • 2000 Joseph Henning
  • 1999 Elizabeth Kopelman Borgwardt; Deborah Kisatsky
  • 1998 Max Friedman
  • 1997 D'Arcy M. Brissman
  • 1996 David Fitzsimons
  • 1995 Amy L. S. Staples
  • 1994 Delia Pergande
  • 1993 R. Tyler Priest; Christian Ostermann
  • 1992 Shannon Smith
  • 1991 Eileen Scully
  • 1990 David McFadden
  • 1989 Thomas Zeiler; Russel Van Wyk
  • 1988 Elizabeth Cobbs; Madhu Bhalla
  • 1987 Janet M. Manson; Thomas M. Gaskin; W. Michael Weis; Michael Wala
  • 1986 Valdinia C. Winn; Walter Hixson
  • 1985 John Nielson