Marilyn Blatt Young Dissertation Completion Fellowship

SHAFR invites applications for its dissertation completion fellowship. SHAFR will make two, year-long awards, in the amount of $25,000 each, to support the writing and completion of the doctoral dissertation in each academic year. These highly competitive fellowships will support the most promising doctoral candidates in the final phase of completing their dissertations. SHAFR membership is required. Applicants should be candidates for the PhD in a humanities or social science doctoral program (most likely history), must have been admitted to candidacy, and must be at the writing stage, with all substantial research completed by the time of the award. Applicants should be working on a topic in the field of U.S. foreign relations history or international history, broadly defined, and must be current members of SHAFR. Because successful applicants are expected to finish writing the dissertation during the tenure of the fellowship, they should not engage in teaching opportunities or extensive paid work, except at the discretion of the Fellowship Committee. At the termination of the award period, recipients must provide a one page (250-word) report to the SHAFR Council on the use of the fellowship, to be considered for publication in the society newsletter. The submission packet should include:

  • A one page application letter describing the project’s significance, the applicant’s status, other support received or applied for and the prospects for completion within the year.
  • A three page statement of the research
  • A curriculum vitae
  • A letter of recommendation from the primary doctoral advisor.

The research statement should run no longer than three double-spaced pages; statements exceeding this limit will not be reviewed. The letter may be single-spaced. Both the letter and statement should be formatted with 1-inch margins and 12 point font, Times New Roman preferred.

To apply, please use the online application located below, which will appears when applications are being accepted. Questions can be sent by electronic mail to [email protected]. The annual deadline for submissions is 1 April. Fellowship awards will be decided by around May 1 and will be announced formally during the SHAFR annual meeting in June, with expenditure to be administered during the subsequent academic year.

Recent Winners:

Patrick Chung, Brown University
James Lin, University of California, Berkeley

Carly Goodman, Temple University
Eric Rutkow, Yale University

Kyle Burke, Northwestern Universty
Julia Mansfield, Stanford University

Seth Anziska, Columbia University
Michelle Reeves, University of Texas

Sara Fieldston, Yale University
David Wight, University of California, Irvine

Shannon Fitzpatrick, University of California, Irvine
Victor V. Nemchenok, University of Virginia

Hajimu Masuda, Cornell University
Sudina Paungpetch, Texas A&M University

Ryan Irwin, Ohio State University
Mara Drogan, State University of New York, Albany

Min Song, University of Georgia
Vanessa Mongey, University of Pennsylvania

Online Application

The application form will appear once applications are being accepted again in 2018.