Samuel Flagg Bemis Dissertation Research Grants

The Samuel F. Bemis Research Grants are intended to promote dissertation research by graduate students.  A limited number of grants of varying amounts (generally, up to $2,000) will be awarded annually to help defray the costs of domestic or international travel necessary to conduct research on significant scholarly projects.  The award is announced formally at the SHAFR luncheon held during the annual meeting of the American Historical Association.  (Applicants for this award will be considered automatically for the Stuart L. Bernath, Holt, and Gelfand-Rappaport-LaFeber grants.) Applicants must be actively working on dissertations dealing with some aspect of U.S. foreign relations history. Membership in SHAFR is required.

Procedures: Self-nominations are expected. The annual deadline for applications is October 15. To apply, please read through the Instructions Sheet and then use the online application located below, which appears when applications are being accepted.  Questions can be e-mailed to [email protected]

Any applicant not receiving an e-mailed confirmation of application after submission should contact the committee chair.

Within eight months of receiving the award, each successful applicant must file with the SHAFR Business Office a brief report on how the funds were spent. Such reports will be considered for publication in Passport.

Online Application






Recent Winners:

  • 2017 Turgay Akbaba
  • 2017 Ashley Black
  • 2017 Rachel Bunker
  • 2017 Henry Gorman
  • 2017 Fumi Inoue
  • 2017 Robert Larson
  • 2017 Erik Moore
  • 2017 Heidi Morefield
  • 2017 Kaete M. O’Connell
  • 2017 Aileen Teague
  • 2017 Yuan Yi
  • 2016 Noaquia Callahan
  • 2016 Alexandra Tejblum Evans
  • 2016 Cody James Foster
  • 2016 Michael Franczak
  • 2016 Chad D. Frazier
  • 2016 Nathaniel George
  • 2016 Michael Limberg
  • 2016 Jessica Malitoris
  • 2016 Kazushi Minami
  • 2016 Rachel Grace Newman
  • 2016 Loan C. Pham
  • 2016 Mark Sanchez
  • 2016 Keenan J. Shimko
  • 2016 Allison Wells
  • 2016 Silke Zoller