The Michael J. Hogan Foreign Language Fellowship

The Michael J. Hogan Foreign Language Fellowship was established to honor Michael J. Hogan, long-time editor of Diplomatic History. The Hogan Fellowship of up to $4,000 is intended to promote research in foreign language sources by graduate students. The fellowship is intended to defray the costs of studying foreign languages needed for research.   The award is announced formally at the SHAFR luncheon held during the annual meeting of the American Historical Association. Applicants must be graduate students researching some aspect of U.S. foreign relations history. Membership in SHAFR is required.

Procedures: Self-nominations are expected. The deadline for applications is October 15. To apply, please read through the Instructions Sheet and then use the online application located below, which appears when applications are being accepted.  Questions can be sent by electronic mail to [email protected]

Any applicant not receiving an e-mailed confirmation of application after submission should contact the committee chair.

Within eight months of receiving the award, each successful applicant must file with the SHAFR Business Office a brief report on how the funds were spent. Such reports will be considered for publication in Passport.

Online Application



Recent Winners:

  • 2017 Michael A. Hill
  • 2016 Zoe LeBlanc
  • 2015 Suraya Khan, George Roberts
  • 2014 Patrick Chung
  • 2013 Simon Tone
  • 2012 Helen Pho
  • 2011 Erica Smith
  • 2010 Victor Nemchenok
  • 2009 Nicholas Molnar
  • 2008 Barin Kayaoglu
  • 2007 Sara Berndt
  • 2006 Ryan Irwin
  • 2005 Heather Dichter
  • 2004 Maraget Peacock
  • 2003 Mark Hove