The Lawrence Gelfand - Armin Rappaport - Walter LaFeber Dissertation Fellowship

SHAFR established this fellowship to honor Lawrence Gelfand, founding member and former SHAFR president; Armin Rappaport, founding editor of Diplomatic History; and Walter LaFeber, former president of SHAFR. The Gelfand-Rappaport-LaFeber Fellowship of up to $4,000 is intended to defray the costs of dissertation research travel. The fellowship is awarded annually at SHAFR luncheon held during the annual meeting of the American Historical Association. (Applicants for this award will be considered automatically for the Stuart L. Bernath, Holt, and Bemis grants.) Applicants must be actively working on dissertations dealing with some aspect of U.S. foreign relations history. Membership in SHAFR is required.

Procedures: Self-nominations are expected. The annual deadline for applications is October 15. To apply, please read through the Instructions Sheet and then use the online application located below, which appears when applications are being accepted.  Questions can be e-mailed to [email protected]

Any applicant not receiving an e-mailed confirmation of application after submission should contact the committee chair.

Online Application



Recent Winners:

  • 2017 Rachel Steely
  • 2016 Evan C. Rothera
  • 2015 David Reid
  • 2014 Heidi M. Krajewski
  • 2013 R. Joseph Parrott
  • 2012 Lauren F. Turek
  • 2011 Thomas Westerman
  • 2010 Stefanie Bator
  • 2009 Candace Sobers
  • 2008 Min Song
  • 2007 Sarah Manekin
  • 2006 Heather Dichter
  • 2005 Joey S.R. Long
  • 2004 Susan Haskell