January 2002

Saturday, January 5, 2002 - 7:30am
Council Meeting

7:30 am

San Francisco

Robert J. McMahon, presiding Members present included: Chris Jespersen, Dina Khoury, Robert Beisner, Mark Stoler, Malcolm Crystal, Robert McMahon, Thomas Schoonover, Allan Spetter, Frank Ninkovich, William Walker III, Robert Buzzanco, Deborah Kisatsky, Randall Woods, William Stueck, and William Brinker.

  1. Larry Grubbs (South Carolina) has been awarded the Bernath Dissertation Award. Martin Lorenz-Meyer (Kansas) has won the Georgetown Travel Grant. Grubbs is working on ìLiterally a Continent to Win: The United States, Development and the Cold War in Africa.î Lorenz-Meyer is working on the Safehaven Program launched to prevent the building of concealed Nazi assets in neutral countries.
  2. Malcolm Crystal, representing Blackwell Publishers, stated that membership numbers were holding steady. Discussion followed concerning JSTOR (the on-line journal collection) and Diplomatic History. Crystal will investigate. It was also noted that the Spring 2002 issue of DH will be the first completely done at the University of Colorado.
  3. Robert Beisner reported that the publication of the new guide should take place in 2003.
  4. William Stueck, Local Arrangements Chair for the 2002 SHAFR Summer Conference, called members' attention to the fact that a tour of the Carter Center is scheduled for June 20th (Thursday) and the annual conference will be held June 21-23 on the University of Georgia campus in Athens.
  5. Dina Khoury reported for Peter Hill regarding the June 6-8, 2003, conference to be held at George Washington University. Hope Harrison will be Local Arrangements chair.
  6. Regarding the 2004 annual meeting, Robert McMahon led a preliminary discussion regarding possible sites. Suggestions from the members would be welcome.
  7. Allan Spetter reported on the Gelfand-Rappaport Fund. He invited discussion about possibly using the fund to support a graduate fellowship(s).
  8. Spetter reported the results of the recent SHAFR election. Michael Hogan was elected vice-president, Dennis Merrill and William Burr were elected to Council, and Darlene Rivas was elected to the Nominating Committee.
  9. Spetter reassured the members that SHAFR's invested funds have weathered the stock market storms in good order. He also stated that the SHAFR archives at Texas A&M are available for research.
  10. Bill Walker, based upon his work on the Bernath Lecture Prize committee, suggested that Council may wish to look at the wording of the various Bernath Prize descriptions.
  11. Bob McMahon reported the need to locate a replacement for Allan Spetter as Executive Secretary/Treasurer of the society. Spetter mentioned his wish to be relieved of his duties before the summer, 2002. Council unanimously resolved to thank Allan for his years of outstanding service to the organization.