January 1999

Saturday, January 9, 1999 - 7:30am
Council Meeting

7:30 am

Omni Shoreham Hotel, Washington, DC

Arnold Offner, presiding Those present: Arnold Offner, Frank Costigliola, David Patterson, Ralph Levering, Steven Schwartzberg, Chester Pach, H.W. Brands, Elizabeth Cobbs Hoffman, Frederick Marks, Tom Schoonover, WalterLaFeber, Allan Spetter, David Anderson, Geoff Smith, Michael Hogan, Malcolm Crystal, Anne Jones, and William Brinker.

  1. Fred Marks, reporting for the Bernath Dissertation Award Committee, announced Max Friedman (Berkeley) the winner of the $1,000 dissertation award and Michael Donoghue (Connecticut) winner of the $500 travel grant for research in the DC area. Discussion followed pertaining to the restrictions attached to the travel grant. No decisions were reached.
  2. Anne Jones from Blackwell Publishers presented a summary of Blackwell's successful activities to promote SHAFR and Diplomatic History.
  3. Steve Schwartzberg, speaking for the committee planning for SHAFR's 1999 Princeton meeting, mentioned progress made thus far and reaffirmed the dates—registration on the evening of June 23 and paper sessions on June 24-26.
  4. Richard Wiggers gave a short presentation regarding the 2000 conference to be held in Toronto, June 22-24. Council accepted a proposal from American University to host the 2001 conference. A motion was made to that affect and passed unanimously.
  5. Mike Hogan discussed the continued excellent health of Diplomatic History. He made some tentative suggestions of directions that might be taken over the next few years to maintain the high standards of the journal.
  6. Chester Pach urged Council to work toward a higher degree of web awareness. Informally it was determined that the web site's address should be prominently displayed on SHAFR publications. A motion was made to establish a committee to investigate SHAFR's use of electronic technologies. The notion passed unanimously and Pach was appointed to chair.
  7. Martin Sherwin reported on the need for SHAFR to "reach out" to historians outside the field of diplomatic history. Discussion followed and various suggestions were made. A motion was made to create a committee to investigate using Diplomatic History as a vehicle for this "reaching out." The motion passed unanimously; Mike Hogan and Marty Sherwin will serve.
  8. SHAFR election results were reported. The winners were, for vice-president: Robert Schulzinger; for Council seats: Randall Woods and Marilyn Young; and for the Nominations Committee: Sam Walker.
  9. Allan Spetter, reporting for Bob Schulzinger, cited this year's robust growth of the SHAFR Endowment accounts— they approach six hundred thousand dollars. Spetter continued by describing the 1998 receipts and expenditures. The figures reemphasize SHAFR's financial soundness.
  10. Council passed a resolution of thanks to Arnold Offner for his services as President.

The Council adjourned at 9:05 am Respectfully submitted William Brinker