The Oxford University Press USA Dissertation Prize in International History

The Oxford University Press USA Dissertation Prize in International History recognizes the best dissertation writing by a rising historian who has completed a research project defined as international history. The Prize of $1,000 is awarded biannually (in even years) to the author of a dissertation, completed during the previous two calendar years. For a dissertation to qualify, the research must be multinational in framing and scope, and there will be a preference for works that have a multilingual source base. In endowing this prize, Oxford University Press hopes to recognize the stellar work of junior scholars and to highlight works that have not been the focus of area studies and other regional and national approaches. Winners will be invited to submit the resulting manuscript to Oxford University Press USA for a formal reading for possible publication. The authors must be members of SHAFR at the time of submission. The Prize is announced at the annual SHAFR conference (even years).

Procedures: A dissertation completed in 2018 or 2019 may be submitted for consideration for the 2020 prize by the author or by the author's advisor.

To nominate a dissertation, send a letter of nomination and an electronic version of the dissertation to Dr. April Merleaux at [email protected] no later than February 1 to be considered.

In addition, a hard copy of the dissertation should be sent to each of the committee members:

--Professor April Merleaux; 37 Highland Avenue; Northhampton, MA  01060
--Professor Erez Manela; Harvard University Department of History; Robinson Hall, Room 220; 35 Quincy Street; Cambridge, MA  02138
--Professor W. Scott Kaufmann; Francis Marion University; Department of History; P.O. Box 100547; Florence, SC  29502

To be considered for the 2020 award, nominations and supporting materials must be received by February 1, 2020.

The Oxford University Press USA Dissertation Prize in International History Recent Winners:

  • 2018 Fritz Bartel
  • 2016 Seth Anziska
  • 2014 Tore C. Olsson
  • 2012 Toshihiro Higuchi, Georgetown University
  • 2010 Paul Chamberlin, Ohio State University