The Betty M. Unterberger Dissertation Prize

The Betty M. Unterberger Prize is intended to recognize and encourage distinguished research and writing by graduate students in the field of diplomatic history. The Prize of $1,000 is awarded biannually (in odd years) to the author of a dissertation, completed during the previous two calendar years, on any topic in United States foreign relations history. The Prize is announced at the annual SHAFR conference. The Prize was established in 2004 to honor Betty Miller Unterberger, a founder of SHAFR and long-time professor of diplomatic history at Texas A&M University.

Procedures: A dissertation completed in 2015 or 2016 may be submitted for consideration for the 2017 prize by the author or by the author's advisor.

To nominate a dissertation,

  • Send a letter of nomination and electronic version of the dissertation to Dr. Vanessa Walker at [email protected] no later than February 28th to be considered.
  • In addition, a hard copy of the dissertation should be sent to each of the committee members:
    --Professor Vanessa Walker; Department of History; Amherst College; Amherst, MA  01002
    --Professor Jim Meriwether; Department of History; California State University Channel Islands; 1 University Drive; Camarillo, CA  93012
    --Professor Jonathan Nashel; Department of History; Indiana University South Bend; South Bend, IN  46634
  • To be considered for the 2017 award, nominations and supporting materials must be received by February 28, 2017.

The Betty M. Unterberger Dissertation Prize Recent Winners:

  • 2015 Mark Seddon, University of Sheffield

  • 2013 Jacob S. Eder, University of Pennsylvania

  • 2011 Thomas Field, London School of Economics, and Julia F. Irwin, Yale University

  • 2009 Gregory R. Domber, George Washington University

  • 2007 Jennifer Heckard, University of Connecticut

  • 2005 Jonathan Winkler, Yale University